Conductor                Warwick Tyrrell
Piano                       Paul Cheung

Shostakovich            Scherzo Opus 1
Liszt                        Piano Concerto Number 1
Mendelssohn            Symphony Number 5

Saturday                   28 March, 2020  @ 5.30pm
Sunday                     29 March, 2020  @ 2.30pm

FIRST AND FINAL opens up the Woollahra Philharmonic Orchestra's 2020 concert season with a burst of brilliance in Shostakovich's very first opus, a rarely performed concert Scherzo that sparkles with youthful exuberance and creativity. This same energy and eagerness to impress is seen in Liszt's First Piano Concerto in E flat major, a showcase work for the dazzling composer, displaying his prowess as both a virtuoso pianist and a dramatic and expressive composer. This performance highlights the phenomenal talent's of our own resident Principal Pianist, Paul Cheung who we are delighted to feature as our esteemed soloist. 

This concert concludes with Mendelssohn's  final Symphony, Number 5. A work of great power, solemnity and exuberance. Largely neglected from the concert halls, this outstanding symphony deserves much more notoriety than the cannons of time have graced it with, so we are excited to present it to you in this program.  

The Woollahra Philharmonic Orchestra welcomes conductor Warwick Tyrrell to direct this concert of revelations and discoveries.